New Year, Same old?

 

Happy New Year Gooners! Yes, judging by the surge in likes on our Facebook page, our unique and honest take on Arsenal news is missed, so we’re back!

 

gun__1229594651_happy_new_year

Happy New Year Gooners!

.The New Year normally comes with new resolutions (I don’t know who still does that because I’ve given up), I’m not sure we can say the same for Arsenal, can we? I fear over the last five or so years, I’ve reluctantly come to accept that we are quintessentially, a top 4 team. Irrespective of the stars that wear this famous red shirt (Fabregas, Hleb, Arshavin, van Persie, Ozil, Sanchez..), we always seem to end up at the same place, somewhere between 2nd and 4th. My acceptance comes as a way to cope with the constant stress that comes with a relentless expectation and hope we can win the Holy Grails of football, Champions League and Premier League. It’s not happening, so I accept my reality.

I should say, up until the Champions League Draw, I was quietly confident we could easily sneak into the final. I wasn’t put off by drawing Bayern, not at all. “Bring them on!”, I thought, we can easily wipe that self-assured snug smile on their faces and wallop them into the next round. The thing that brought me back to earth was that loss to Everton. How could we? Surely, this was starting to look like our year. It is not the loss that annoyed me, but, like all-so-often, HOW we lost. We played an amazing first half, only to surrender everything in the 2nd half. We then went on to do some thing similar but even more spectacular at Manchester  City. I came to a firm conclusion, the problem with Arsenal is not ability but more mentality. I’m no psychologist but I can tell Arsenal are a team who will relax whenever they reach the top. We can blame players manager or even say the Emirates is cursed (I’m happy to look into that), but, that is the best way to sum us up, A MENTALLY WEAK TEAM!

No, no, no… I’m not going to ruin your New Years day by slagging off our team which actually won their last game. I just thought I would share my over bearing feeling from the last few seasons, especially this last one and offer some perspective into 2017. We actually won our last game, we have ONLY lost 3 games, which is quite commendable. If Chelsea were not breaking records and winning every game, we could easily be in the mix for the title. So all is not lost and there is a lot to be optimistic about. In my opinion, for the first time, we have a squad where we have a team where Im actually fussed if we buy anyone in January. I like our options in every position. Right-back does raise an eye brow as we don’t seem to have a good option for Bellerin. Otherwise, let us keep the faith and maybe 2017 could serve us with a pleasant surprise. We could still do one to Bayern if we get our sh** in order, there’s the FA Cup and the Premeirship is far from decided.

As supporters, especially those who turn up at matches, it is important to be behind the team, at least until the final whistle

We need to give those players as much support as we can, after all, we are the 12th man. I look forward to 2017 with hope and not expectation, I think hope does well for my bruised and battered heart compared to expectation.

 

Happy New Year

 

 

 

 

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a comment